Station Identification Frustration

Sigh. Where do I begin? You all are familiar with the podcast plans I had for this site. I bought a Blue Yeti USB mic, downloaded PreSonus Studio One recording software on my laptop, bought an amp splitter, 1/8"-1/4" adapters, headphones and spent LOADS of time trying to figure it all out. Being an ex-Guitar Center employee, I figured I'd get the hang of things in no time. No. Not the case. Chris, being an ex-Guitar Center employee had worse luck than I did (for the 40 seconds he tried to figure it out). Nick, being a Current Guitar Center employee couldn't really make heads of tails of if, either. Though, credit where credit is due, he did figure out some things and I almost managed to do something successfully. 


This past Saturday, I recorded my very first Your Friendly Neighborhood Concession Stand podcast with my brother and Ricky Limones (featured on the front page). I packed up all my equipment and set up at Ricky's house. Everything looked good. We sat down, took deep breaths and hit Record. "Then what?" Well, I don't know, really. There was some sort of noise that started around 13 minutes in. Like a pressure or something. I couldn't figure out where it was coming from and it drove me fucking nuts. Ruined a perfectly good recording. We had some pretty good material in there. I haven't scrapped it, but that was just a sprinkle of the Recording Woes cake. This past Sunday (yesterday), I recorded my very first Pass to the Left podcast with Nick, Chris and Liz. We set up in my apartment. Everything looked good. We all took deep breaths and hit Record. "Then what?" Well, I don't know, really. There was a random CD-skipping sound that only happened during playback and it lasts for several seconds in random areas. More than that, exporting the audio file doesn't seem to be working because we "clipped" in an area during record and it split the export in half. How do I tape the two pieces together? Why didn't I buy a fucking Macbook Pro? GREAT QUESTIONS.


I swear, the next cheap motherfucker I hear whining about how much Apple products cost, I'm going to send them a macro shot of plumes coming out of my ears and the fire shooting out of the top of my head and I will remind them that you get what you pay for. Quit your bitching and save the money. I wish I had. So! Where does that leave the future of my podcast idea? Frankly, I'm not sure. Chris has a handheld recording device that we'll be recording with today. I don't really care about audio quality anymore. I just want the damn thing to work. Is that so much to ask?


In case I haven't made it perfectly clear,

FUCK Windows. FUCK PCs.

And FUCK my ego for not allowing me look up a Studio One tutorial. 


Today is also my first day back from vacation.

I didn't sleep well.

There are a variety of things going into my all caps (ab)use. 


Hopefully, today's recording goes better.

Wish me luck, friends. Or tragedy.

Tragedy helps me write and forget about all the other stuff bothering me. 

Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    Obat Jerawat (Thursday, 14 July 2016 01:41)

    mohon kunjungannya http://obatjerawat.kesehatan31.com/, Wow Ini baru informasi yang sangat menarik, sungguh beruntung aku ada disini http://obatjerawat.kesehatan31.com/ | http://goo.gl/yaecT6

  • #2

    Obat Lemah Syahwat (Thursday, 11 August 2016 03:25)

    mohon kunjungan baliknya di http://acemaxscare.com/, sunggguh informasi yang anda bawakan sangat menarik dan bermanfaat, sukses selalu. By http://acemaxscare.com/obat-lemah-syahwat/ | http://goo.gl/aZ4NnI