A rare gulp of air

Since my last blog entry (two months ago), some unavoidably major things have happened. I'll go in order of appearance. 

I got a promotion!

That's right. You're looking at the new Security Systems Supervisor at the ol' P.P. What does that mean exactly? Well, 90% of the time, it means I tell people where the restrooms are. But that other 10%! That other 10% is the fun part. I get to work on the system that keeps the building in order. Does it require work often? No. Semi-often? Semi-no. Rarely? That's more like it. But what fun it is when I DO get to exercise my brain a little! I mostly look at it that any step forward is a good step, even if I'm not doing a ton of additional stuff. I'm at a point in my museum career where I feel very comfortable with all aspects and goings-on and I'm glad to be where I am. Nick also got a promotion. Did I mention that part already? Anyways, he's been at Arlington for the last couple of months and he seems to be enjoying it. More on him later. 

My baby turned 4 months old!

My little Herbert Orange is growing before my very eyes. He's gone from a scrawny baby to a chunky monkey and the transformation is nothing short of heartwarming. He smiles often. He doesn't quite laugh yet, but he opens his mouth wide like he wants to. He loves diaper changes. He likes bath time. He's quite vocal but has not figured out consonants yet. He's begun sucking on his bottom lip and drooling like a madman, so I can only assume this means he's teething. It frustrates him, but he doesn't cry. He doesn't really CRY about anything. He is about as chill as babies come and I do not take that fact for granted. He is perfect in every little way. I love him more than I can begin to articulate. Since receiving my promotion, I've had less and less time to pump at work. At 3 months, I stopped pumping altogether. My body stopped producing because I couldn't keep up. My baby is now formula exclusive, and while it breaks my heart that I couldn't keep it going for him, I'm glad that he got any at all. Cognitively, Bert is right about where he should be for his age, even though he's premature. His eye-hand coordination leaves much to be desired though, as he is still unable to reach for things he wants. Oh well. For my hair and George's tail, this is still a good thing. He's not able to turn himself over from his back yet, but he's never really tried. I need to give the carpet a good cleaning and let him try to do a pushup. 

 

The last and most major change is hard to talk about because it is still a bloody, undressed wound. I will say that everything I do is for Herbert. Everything is for his well-being. Everything in his best interest. It is my job as his mother to keep him safe above all else. And that's what I'm doing. I'm keeping him safe from the would-be dangers of alcoholism and bad examples. My family is my steady ground. I am brave for Herbert because they've made a terrifying change less terrifying. Things are still very much up in the air, but Herb has a safe place to call home and that's all I really care about. 

I feel like I'm probably forgetting to mention things, but maybe not. For the past four months, it's been go, go, go with Bert and work so it's not like I've done anything else worth mentioning, really. My Christmas party came and went. Not much to tell there. I only now have time to write this because I'm covering a swing shift for someone else... Anyways, tomorrow is Christmas Day. My baby and I will be spending it the way we'll be spending every other day. Together. 

Write a comment

Comments: 0